wave5 Philippines

Asian Barometer Survey Wave 5



By Social Weather Stations

December 2018


1.1 Location

The Survey covered the entire Philippines.

The Philippines (official name: Republic of the Philippines) is located in the archipelagic Southeast Asia. The Philippine archipelago consists of 7,107 islands that span across more than 300,000 square kilometers of total land area, making it the 73rd-largest country in the world. It is divided into three main island groups: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. The capital region, the National Capital Region (NCR), is located in Luzon.

1.2 Population

The Philippines is the 13th most populous country in the world. It has a population of 100,981,437 as of the 2015 Census of Population and Housing. During the period 2010 to 2015, its population grew at an average rate of 1.72% annually, lower than the 1.90% rate in 2000 to 2010.

As of 2015, the Philippines has an annual population growth of 1.6%, the 67th in the world. It has a birth rate of 24.27 births per 1,000 population. The household population in 2015 was 100,573,715 persons.

According to the 2015 Census of Population and Housing, the total population is composed of 50.6% males and 49.4% females, for a sex ratio of 102 males for every 100 females. The median age was 24.3 years.

The Philippines has a youth distribution of population pyramid, which is characterized by high percent of children and percentage of the elderly. As in the 2010 Census, children aged 0 to 4 years and 5 to 9 years comprised the largest age groups in the 2015 Census.

Sixty-two percent of the total population (62,615,419 persons) are of voting-age or aged 18 years old and above.

The marital status of the total population 10 years old and above is as follows: never married, 43.9%; married, 40.9%; in common law/live-in marital arrangement, 9.1%; widowed, 4.5%; divorced/separated, 1.5%; and, unknown marital status, less than 0.1%. There are more males than females who are never married.

The distribution of highest educational attainment is as follows: 33.5% had attended or completed elementary education, 36.4% had reached or finished high school, 10.5 % was college undergraduate, and 11.1% was baccalaureate/college graduate. There are more females than males who are college graduates or post-college graduates.

Almost 80 % of Filipinos are Roman Catholics; 6 % are Muslims and 3 % are affiliated with Iglesia ni Cristo.

1.3 Government

The Philippines is a unitary presidential constitution republic, with a President who is both the head of state and the head of government. There is a separation of power, however, among the three branches of government – the executive, the legislative and the judicial.

The Executive branch is composed of the president and the vice-president. They are elected by direct popular vote nationwide and serve for a single term of six years. The president is granted the sole authority to appoint a Cabinet. The current president is Rodrigo Duterte, whose term started from his election in May 2016 until his successor is sworn after the May 2022 elections.

The Legislative branch – the Philippine Congress – has the sole authority to enact, alter and repeal laws. The Congress is composed of two chambers – the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate is composed of 24 senators who are elected by direct popular vote nationwide. Senators serve a term of six years. The Senators are elected through staggered elections, in which 12 are elected every election. Senators may not serve for more than two consecutive six-year terms.

The House of Representatives is composed of not more than 250 members who are either elected from the legislative districts apportioned by the number of residents or elected through the party-list system. Members of the House of Representatives serve a term of three years. They may not serve for more than three consecutive 3-year terms.

The Philippine Constitution provides for local government units (or LGUs) to “enjoy autonomy” while the president “exercise(s) general supervision” over the LGUs. Local government in the Philippines is composed of three levels, namely the provincial, cities and municipalities, and barangays. A province is governed by a governor and provincial legislature, while a city/municipality is governed by a mayor and city/municipal legislature. A barangay is governed by a barangay captain and a barangay legislature. All local executives and legislature serve three-year terms, with maximum three terms.


  • Timetable




Programming and testing of SurveyToGo script

June 2018

Pilot test n=300 respondents

July 10-14, 2018

Revision of SurveyToGo script based on the pilot test results

July – September, 2018

Sampling of n=1,200 respondents

August 2018

Finalization of PH questionnaire based on the pilot test results

August – October, 2018

Translation of questionnaires into other Filipino languages

September - October 2018

Pre-fieldwork Preparations: Logistics, Reproduction of training materials and show cards

November 2018

Finalization of SurveyToGo program

November 2018


Training of Supervisors

November 26-28

Training of Interviewers

November 30 – December


December 4 - 11


Back to Wave5 Survey